Joy has no cost

Image

 

Hello my readers, 

           Do you ever feel that you need material things to make you feel better? Like you need a new pair of shoes or get the latest phone just to get that feeling of uplift. Yes, I remember when I had that need, when things went wrong and I got 4 new pairs of shoes, and an outfit to go with them. This is a sick reward system that we have grown up with, making us believe that we should get a outside reward to make us feel better. Specially in our country it’s what you deserve after all that hard work, a television, a new phone, new surround system, new car etc. They led us to believe that these rewards will make us feel better, no matter the cost. If you think about it at the long run, is this really going to make us feel better. I mean it feels good to get all of those things, and yes you are more than deserving of those material goods, but how attached are we to those materials goods? 

            One of my biggest lessons in life is learning how to detach emotionally from this materials things. I am still on this journey, but I have come a long way. I would spend hundreds of dollars on shoes, clothes, accessories, what ever that could make me feel good, when I had a bad day, a broken heart, fight with my parents, or just to fill the empty whole. I thought those things would make me have more friends, would make me look cool, would bring me joy. I was so naive to think that material good could ever bring me true joy when in reality nothing outside of me could ever do that. It all comes from within, true joy has no cost. Those are wise words written by Marianne Williamson, she is my personal guru. One must look inside and get in touch with our inner guidance in order to find true happiness, bliss, joy.  

Taking 5 mins as soon as you wake up to just sit, deep breath in and out and just picture your day going smooth, happy and in harmony. 

I send you much love and joy. 

 

Remember to smile because the universe Loves YOU! 

Love, 

 

Mara Lee

Leave a Reply

